jump to navigation

sorry for the pause July 20, 2007

Posted by peterong in Reflections.
trackback

after much nudging and reminders from friends and church folk that my blog is a source of much misplaced affections for me (since access is “limited” to me”). I have been on a hiatus because I have been transitioning back to NYC with tons of boxes of books that need to be reorganized and reshelved and somehow going to be resold on half dot com. Transitioning has been a lot harder than I thought and my time in the ‘cuse still haunts me and living in the urban rhythms still have me staggered at times. So between speaking at summer retreats (four, yes, four retreats and two major retreats in the fall), unpacking, actually going out to do laundry (a first for me), transitioning out of my time at Chinese Christian Herald Crusades and finding a new ministry to serve has got me all twisted that unwinding to share my thoughts in the blog world has been a bit unrealized.

So, I am back in the blogsphere, wondering who is reading this and still I am somewhat self contained since the wife is in China working a water project in Nanjing. I want to write more but there are times I want to just listen, to get reconnected with friends. To collide with my past and memories of people who have long faded but now reappear (via facebook).

I am leaving behind a season of my life in ‘Cuse that I discovered and gave me tremendous insight on how ugly the church can be. It taught me to preach on rhetoric versus reality. How appointed servants use what Mclaren calls “motivation via exclusion” and yet, at the end, I found a fellowship among a few people who laughed at our shortcomings, who never took ourselves seriously but yearning to take our faith seriously. A place where lives were seen as relational and not just functional to what they can contribute to the church. It gave me so much insight and now I preach on this and it has been so impactful to those who have been so damaged by the church and its pretenses. I show them that we all have these inclinations of being a community of ungrace and that we and must realize there is hope.

I think I am becoming so much more humble in this time. Realizing more that I have so little control over my outcome. I am sitting on layered bed (a futon under my mattress to save space) and hearing the sounds of trucks and honking automobiles, preparing to do work developing the Laity Ministry for the Asian American church. Discovering how much I love God, how much I miss my wife, how much God has provided for me through friends and circumstances. There is a part of me that is so excited and also dread the reality of ministry…it is hard but so beautiful when things “click.”

Thank you friends for poking me to write…there is great comfort in this exchange…and yes

i miss you guys too.

Comments»

1. ericlikeseatin - July 24, 2007

hey peter,
good to read your writing again. glad to hear you are back in nyc, where there is an abundance of tobasco.


Leave a Reply

